The E-Textiles Network was founded in August 2018 to accelerate the development and adoption of e-textiles technology by facilitating focused research activities and disseminating results.

The Network will bring members together to;

  • Identify the application challenges in key application sectors.
  • Define research challenges.
  • Facilitate collaboration to enable industrial pull.
  • Identify and attract new research disciplines that can be applied to e-textiles.
  • Aid dissemination of research results and broadly promote the technology.

The Network will hold three themed workshops and annual conferences, which will be open to members, as well as publishing monthly newsletters and case studies. Members also have the chance to share resources with the community (Please see the Resources page for more information.)

Members of the Steering Board

The E-Textiles Network is overseen by the Steering Board, who represent academia, industry and end-users.

Name Institution Name Institution
Prof Steve Beeby

Dr Kai Yang

Dr Russel Torah

Dr John Tudor

University of Southampton Thushara Sabreen Tinker Design
Dr Yang Wei

Dr Theodore Hughes Riley

Nottingham Trent University Mark Pedley Brighter Futures
Dr Davide Deganello Swansea University Dr Roya Ashayer-Soltani QinetiQ
Dr Ishara Dharmasena Loughborough University Annie Lywood Bonnie Binary
Barbara Shepherd Barbara Shepherd Associates Simon McMaster Footfalls and Heartbeats
Prof Henry Yi Li University of Manchester Dr Debra Carr
Dr Mark Helliker
Prof David Harrison Brunel University Myra Waiman Infi-Tex
Dr Felice Torrisi Imperial College London Phil Kunovski Kymira
Stephanie Dick The Textile Institute Dr Laura Salisbury Royal College of Art